Correcting Grammar One Song at a Time

For some of us, every day is National Grammar Day. But did you know that one date has been designated to pay homage to punctuation, parts of speech, and all things grammar related? Today, March 4, is a day of celebration for rule followers everywhere. Last year, The Snail offered 10 Heartfelt Sentiments to send to your language-loving friends. Now we’re seeing how some of our favorite song titles and lyrics play out when we give them a grammatical tune-up. Take a look; can you think of any other musical mistakes that could use a fix?

Correcting Grammar_U2

 

Correcting Grammar_Push It

 

 

Correcting Grammar_Ghostbusters

 

 

Correcting Grammar_One Less Problem

 

Correcting Grammar_Dylan

 

 

Correcting Grammar _BTO

 

 

Correcting Grammar_Foreigner

(All above images labeled for noncommercial reuse with modification.)

7 comments on “Correcting Grammar One Song at a Time

  1. Susan says:

    Bruno Mars – The first time I heard “Should’ve gave you all my hours” I thought “Aww, what a nice sentiment.” The second time I heard it I thought “Should have gave!?”

    But the one I really can’t stand, the one that has been driving me batty for over 20 years, is the song “More Than Words” by 90s hair band Extreme: “Saying I love you / Is not the words I want to hear from you.”

  2. Lol, this is awesome 😀 LOVE it!

  3. Please make more! This was SO funny.

  4. This is too cute! Love it – and thanks for sharing the corrections.

  5. I had fun playing around with these, and I sure wish I could think of more. I’ll keep my ears open for more musical mistakes—and feel free to pass along ideas if they come to you!

  6. This is awesome. If you think of any more, I hope you will share!

  7. Bo Williams says:

    I thought for years that “Live and Let Die” contained “in this ever-changing world in which we live in,” which is, of course, splendidly awful.

    The real lyric is “in this ever-changing world in which we’re living,” which hits me as a bit contorted, though grammatical.

What do you have to say?

